WDAD NEWS, sponsored by IRMC at Chestnut Ridge
Do you want to share this?
Indiana County voters go all Republican in federal, state elections


The overall election scorecard from yesterday shows Barrack Obama defeating Mitt Romney for the presidency, Bob Casey over Tom Smith for U.S. Senate, and locally, Bill Shuster winning in the 9th Congressional District and Jeff Pyle retaining his seat in the state legislature by an overwhelming 65 to 35 percent in the 60th District.  Democrats won the state row offices, Kathleen Kane taking the attorney general’s race, Eugene Depasquale winning auditor general, and Rob McCord earning another term as state treasurer.   


Indiana County’s voters were solidly in favor of Republicans, choosing Mitt Romney for the presidency by 58.6 to 39.8 percent.  Tom Smith was the Senate choice in the county, by a 56.5 to 41.23 percent margin. County voters also perferred David Freed over Kane for attorney general, John Maher over Depasquale for auditor general, and Diana Irey Vaughn over McCord for state treasurer.


Pyle won Indiana County with 67.8 percent of the vote.  The 60th district municipalities in the county include the boroughs of Creekside, Ernest and Shelocta and the townships of Armstrong, Brush Valley, Cherryhill, Green, Rayne and Washington.


Indiana County’s other state lawmakers, Senator Don White and Representatives Dave Reed and Sam Smith all were unopposed and will return to Harrisburg. 

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

Get all your Hometown News

on the Hometown News App!

Scan the QR Code or download from the

iPhone App Store or Google Play!

911 Report
Hometown News
Download the app today!